Apple is finally giving Mac one of the iPhone’s best features




a man standing in a room: macOS Monterey Features


© Provided by BGR
macOS Monterey Features

Apple announced and demoed several new software features planned for this year’s major iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, and Apple TV updates during the WWDC 2021 keynote on Monday. As expected, Apple didn’t have time to cover every change planned for the next-gen operating system upgrades during the press conference. Some of the features are so small and rarely used that can be shoved into a press release.

That was the case for an iPhone feature you rarely have to use, but one I’ve wanted on my Mac for years. It’s finally making the jump to the Mac with macOS Monterey. It’s the ability to erase all content and settings on the device, which is the tool you’ve probably used to factory reset your iPhone.

More Amazon Deals from BGR

Today’s Top Deal

AirPods Pro are back in stock at Amazon’s lowest price of 2021!

Price: $197.00

You Save: $52.00 (21%)

Buy Now

Click here to read the full article.

Head to the Settings app on iPhone and iPad, tap General and scroll down to the Reset menu; press that, and you’ll have several reset options presented to you. Erase All Content and Settings is a handy feature that you should keep in mind for various scenarios.

I’ve used it when bringing in an iPhone for repairs, right after backing all the data to my Mac. I’ve used it when installing a fresh version of Apple’s latest iOS release and when setting up an old iPhone as someone’s first smartphone. It’s an incredibly useful solution that ensures you securely delete all the personal data from the iPhone or iPad before selling it or pass it on to someone else. The device still runs the latest iOS or iPadOS release and can be used as new once the reset process is finished.

But I’ve wanted a similar tool more than once when dealing with Macs. Having the ability to erase all personal contents and settings on a device before giving to someone else or selling it would be tremendously helpful. But there’s no such thing in macOS, at least until Monterey rolls out. The only way to erase everything is to back up all your data first and then perform a fresh reinstall.

macOS Monterey changes all that, as there’s a new option in System…

Source…